8 States Sign Statement to Accelerate Transition to Zero-Emission Trucks and Buses

California, Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island and Vermont joined with the District of Columbia to sign a statement of intent today to develop an action plan to accelerate the deployment of zero-emission trucks and buses.

The initiative is led by the Northeast States for Coordinated Air Use Management (NESCAUM) and the California Air Resources Board (CARB).

“Our states recognize that nearly all new motor vehicles need to be electric by 2050 to achieve the necessary reductions in greenhouse gas emissions,” the statement reads. “Therefore, transportation electrification is a key climate action strategy and a top air quality priority for our states.”

The next step is for the governors of those states to agree to a Memorandum of Understanding to form a strategy to accelerate the zero-emission truck market.